Theses and Dissertations - UTB/UTPA

Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Science (MS)


Electrical Engineering

First Advisor

Dr. Sanjeev Kumar

Second Advisor

Dr. Jae Sok Son

Third Advisor

Dr. Richard H. Fowler


The design of high-performance packet switches is essential to efficiently handle the exponential growth of data traffic in the next generation Internet. Shared-memory-based packet switches are known to provide the best possible delay-throughput performance and the lowest packet-loss rate compared with packet switches using other buffering strategies. However, scalability of shared-memory-based switching systems has been restricted by high memory bandwidth requirements, segregation of memory space and centralized control of switching functions that causes the switch performance to degrade as a shared-memory switch is grown in size. The new class of sliding-window based packet switches are known to overcome these problems associated with shared-memory switches. This thesis presents different schemes proposed earlier by Dr. Kumar for use in the sliding-window switch to allocate self-routing parameters. Comparative performance of these schemes have been evaluated in this thesis. The results show the scalability of the switch that can be achieved with different parameter assignment schemes. It is shown that not all assignment schemes have same performance. With appropriate assignment scheme, it is possible to achieve very high throughput-performance and switch size for sliding-window switches.


Copyright 2004 Taner Doganer. All Rights Reserved.

Granting Institution

University of Texas-Pan American